Archival Reproduction Policy
We are pleased to offer digitization and photocopying services to facilitate access to our collections for research purposes. Please review the following policy regarding reproduction requests:
Reproduction Services:
- Digitization: We provide digitization services for materials within our collections. This includes scanning documents, photographs, and other materials to create digital copies.
- Photocopying: Photocopying services are also available for materials that cannot be digitized or for patrons who prefer physical copies.
- Fees: A fee of $25 plus $0.25 per page is applicable for photocopying services, up to a maximum of 300 pages wherein an additional $25 service charge is applied.
- Cost Estimate: Prior to initiating reproduction services, patrons will be provided with an estimate of the number of pages and the associated cost. This allows patrons to make an informed decision before proceeding with the reproduction request.
Procedure:
- Request Submission: Patrons can submit reproduction requests either in person in our Archives Reading Room or to our reference queue via email at specialcollection@knox.edu.
- Evaluation: Upon receiving a reproduction request, our staff will assess the materials requested for reproduction and provide an estimated number of pages and cost.
- Approval: Patrons must confirm their approval of the estimated cost before reproduction services can commence.
- Reproduction: Once approval is received, our staff will proceed with digitization or photocopying of the requested materials.
- Delivery: Digital copies will be provided electronically, while photocopies can be picked up in person or mailed to the patron, depending on their preference.
Note Regarding Research Assistance:
While we are happy to facilitate reproduction requests, it's important to note that our staff does not conduct research on behalf of patrons. We can provide reference assistance and guidance in locating folder level information within our collections, but we are unable to assist in locating specific documents or comprehensive research endeavors (We will make some exceptions. Typically if a prior researcher has visited and knows exactly what documents they need reproduced).
For specific and detailed information found in a collection, it is recommended that researchers visit our Archives Reading Room or consider hiring a professional researcher for in-depth research assistance. Additionally, we are happy to provide reproductions of entire contents contained in a folder.
We look forward to assisting you in accessing our archival materials for your research needs. If you have any questions or require further assistance, please contact us.
