Access and Search Collections
There are several ways to search our collections, both online and in person. If you have difficulty finding what you are looking for, do not hesitate to contact us. Requests can be made in advance by phone or email.
- Knox Primo: This library discovery system includes a search engine for exploring rare books and other unique items in Special Collections. You can search by title, author, or other subject keywords.
Are you looking for a specific topic? Try setting additional filters on the left-hand side of the page to narrow your search. By clicking on “Special Collections” in the location box, you can narrow your search to include Special Collections materials only.
- The Knox Student Newspaper: The Knox Student, Knox College's student newspaper, was first published 1878-1882 and then continuously from 1894 to the present. The newspaper is a rich record of daily life at a small Midwestern liberal arts college, documenting events, people and ideas important to Knox College and the surrounding community. This is a great first step to research and finding more information about a specific topic.
Are you looking for a specific topic? Try setting additional filters on the-upper-right-hand side of the page to narrow and filter your search by clicking on “Advanced Search." You can narrow your search to only include TKS and also change the drop down box to search for: exact phrases; all of the words; any of the words; or non of the words.
- Archival & Manuscript Collections: Finding aids describe the content and scope of various collections. Inventories can be located within our Reading Room or shared electronically by contacting our reference queue.
- Digital Collections: Materials that have been digitized are available in digital collections and exhibits. Our digital exhibits showcase a wide variety of art, vintage photographs from Knox College, and other primary source materials. Material reproduction of our other material that has not been digitized is available by special request.
