The MLA Bibliography Database
"The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats."
*Search this database as you would other EBSCOhost databases. When looking for criticism, do not limit to Book Reviews only.
Reference Books on Analysis, Criticism and Bibliographic information
American Writers: Ref PS129.A55 v.1-4 +Supps.
British Writers: Ref PR85.B688 v.1-8 +Supps.
These collections of essays provide substantial biographical and literary information on each American or British author. The authors included in this set are from all periods of American and British literary history.
Contemporary Authors: Ref PN771.C58.
This is a multi-volume set used chiefly for biographical information on authors. The Cumulative Index to this set is very important because it leads to excellent articles in other series by this publisher, such as Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB).
Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC): Ref PN771.C59 v.1-
This set contains lengthy excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and script writers living from 1960 to the present. Use the cumulative index in the latest volume to find all references to an author in this set and related sets.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB): located in the PR and PS sections in the Reference room
Each volume features biographical essays on writers representing a particular topic, genre or nationality. Titles include: British Dramatists since WWII, Native American Writers in the United States, Medieval Japanese Writers, etc...
