Main Journal Article Databases for PHysics
Provided (paid for) by the Library - Can't get via Google
- Web of Science ~ This is an immense database covering all subject areas, with an emphasis on Science. It has the most coverage for phyiscs of any database at Knox. It also allows some search types not possible with other databases : Ciation Searching & Related Article Searching.
- PROLA ~ Prola is a small database of only 13 titles. BUT they are all in Physics, and they are some of the most important journals in Physics. For most of the titles we only have access to issues older than 3-5 years.
- American Chemical Society Journals ~ There is a lot of overlap between physics and chemistry. In particular chemists are often interested in and/or use physics research in their work. And so, physics research or research that combines chemistry and physics is often published in ACS Journals. Most of these are covered in WOS, but using the ACS website is useful if you know your topic has a chemistry link, and all the journals for the most recent years are available directly in Full Text without having to use the Find It button as you so in WOS.
- Academic Search Complete thru EbscoHost - There is nothing good in here that is not also in Web of Science, but you can get to any articles that are in here faster and with fewer steps. So this is a good place to go to look for something fast, but not to do a major search
· More on Library Resources
The library subscribes to numerous periodicals - print and online, periodical databases, online reference sources, and other tools for your use. The full content of these is not available via Google because that content is not free, and is only available to paying subscribers. Some of these resources are :
- Indexes to Articles ~ You use them to find the titles and citation information for articles on a particular topic, but they don't have the full text of the article. You then use other tools to find locate the full text (Library Catalog, EJournal Linker or Interlibrary Loan). Examples
- Web of Science
- Academic Search Complete via EbscoHost
- ACS Journals
- MathSciNet
- Annual Reviews
Library Catalogs ~ These are databases of books, films, etc.
- Knox Library Catalog ~ Use this to find the books we have. You can search by topics, keywords, authors, titles, etc.
- I-Share Catalog ~ This is the combined library catalogs of 75 academic libraries in Illinois that you can borrow directly from. Items usually take only 4 days to arrive.
- WorldCat ~ This is the combined library catalogs of over 15,000 libraries worldwide.
EReference Sources ~ Encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies etc. Knox subscribes to several packages of these + individual titles. You can find the packages listed on the right side of the Journal Databases A-Z page. You can find individual titles in the library catalog. Examples :
- Credo Reference - Includes subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri & other tools in almost any subject area
- Sage EReference - Is a collection of 62 academic encyclopedias and handbooks. These reference books include data and extensive bibliographies.
