English 300L

This book was first published in 1975, the bicentenary of Jane Austen's birth. Though she has long been recognized as one of the major English novelists her reputation was established relatively late and has withstood periods of neglect and controversy. The present volume brings together nineteen essays that marked the bicentenary and in doing so reflected the critical attitudes which some of the twentieth century's most influential scholars have entertained towards the novelist. These essays range from nineteenth-century reactions to the novels and to the novelist herself, through twentieth-century criticism of the individual novels, to considerations of the novelist's reputation abroad. This book will be of interest both to scholars and students of eighteenth- and nineteenth-century fiction and also to the general reader of Jane Austen's novels.

One of the particular concerns of the Victorians was the notion of 'taste' and the idea that good taste in any field - clothing, d?cor, landscape, music, art, even food - meant good taste in all, and that tastefulness was a reliable sign of moral sensitivity, indeed of national, even racial, quality. Moral Taste is a study of the ideological work done by the equation of good taste and moral refinement in a selection of nineteenth-century writings. Drawing on the theories of Pierre Bourdieu, Marjorie Garson discusses a number of Victorian texts that treat aesthetic refinement as an essential mark of proper middle-class subjectivity. She situates each text in its historical moment and considers it in the light of contemporary anxieties, providing insights into why certain ways of representing and endorsing tastefulness remained serviceable for many decades. In addition, this study demonstrates how the discourse of taste engenders a wider discourse about middle-class subjectivity and entitlement, national character, and racial identity in the period.

First published in 1995. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

"Jane Austen's Families" focuses on family dynamics in Jane Austen's six novels.  After a general introduction, which places its approach in the context of ethical criticism, it divides into two sections.  The first, "Family Dynamics," consists of three chapters  - "The Function of the Dysfunctional Family," "Spoilt Children" and "Usefulness and Exertion." The three chapters of section two, "Fathers and Daughters," look at father-daughter relationships in "Mansfield Park," "Emma" and "Persuasion."

Loved by instructors for its visual and flexible way to build computer skills, the Illustrated Series is ideal for teaching Microsoft Office Excel 2010 to both computer rookies and hotshots. Each two-page spread focuses on a single skill, making information easy to follow and absorb. Large, full-color illustrations represent how the students' screen should look. Concise text introduces the basic principles of the lesson and integrates a case study for further application.

Reflecting the dynamic and expansive nature of Austen studies, A Companion to Jane Austen provides 42 essays from a distinguished team of literary scholars that examine the full breadth of the English novelist's works and career. Provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date array of Austen scholarship Functions both as a scholarly reference and as a survey of the most innovative speculative developments in the field of Austen studies Engages at length with changing contexts and cultures of reception from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries

Jane Austen has been one of the world's most popular writers for 200 years and is best known for her works ""Pride and Prejudice"", ""Emma"", and ""Sense and Sensibility"". Taught in high school and college classes across the country and appealing to both scholars and general readers, her novels, many of which have been adapted into popular films, continue to be best sellers today.""Critical Companion to Jane Austen"" examines her life and works, and includes critical analyses of the themes within her writing, as well as entries on related topics and relevant people, places, and influences.

The first bookto investigate Jane Austen's popular significance today, Everybody's Jane considers why Austen matters to amateur readers, how they make use of hernovels, what they gain from visiting places associated with her, and why theycreate works of fiction and nonfiction inspired by her novels and life.The voices of everyday readers emerge fromboth published and unpublished sources, including interviews conducted with literary tourists and archival research into thefounding of the Jane Austen Society of North America and the exceptional Austencollection of Alberta Hirshheimer Burke of Baltimore.Additional topics include new Austenportraits; portrayals of Austen, and of Austen fans, in film and fiction; andhybrid works that infuse Austen's writings with horror, erotica, or explicitChristianity.Everybody's Jane will appeal to all those who care about Austen and will change how we think about theimportance of literature and reading today.

Although Jane Austen has long been one of England's best loved novelists this book by Roger Gard is at once a discussion of Jane Austen's oeuvre and a commentary that should stimulate all readers.

2017 marks the 200th anniversary of the death of Jane Austen, whose six completed novels have never been out of print. Best known for her novels, 'Sense and Sensibility', 'Pride and Prejudice', 'Mansfield Park', and 'Emma', first published anonymously, Jane commented, critiqued and illuminated the life of the English upper classes. But did Jane's writings highlight anything about her own spirituality? In this celebratory book, Paula Hollingsworth explores Jane Austen's gentle but strong faith and the effect it had both on her life and her writing. Drawing on Jane's life story, her letters, her friendships, her books and the characters portrayed, Paula shows the depth of Jane Austen's spirituality.

Originally published in 1992. In an age when genteel women wrote little more than personal letters, how did Jane Austen manage to become a novelist? Was she an isolated genius who rose to fame through sheer talent? Did she draw strength from the support of her family or from women writers who went before her? In Jane Austen among Women, Deborah Kaplan argues that these explanations are either misleading or insufficient. Austen, Kaplan contends, participated actively in a women's culture that promoted female authority and achievement--a culture that not only helped her become a novelist but also influenced her fiction.

Academy Award(r) for Best Adapted Screenplay, Golden Globe(r) for Best Picture and Best Screenplay. Includes Emma Thompson's personal diaries kept during the making of the film, from the pre-production meetings to the wrap party.

Robert Morrison sets Pride and Prejudice within the social contexts of female conduct books and political tales of terror and traces criticism of the novel from the nineteenth century to the present, including material on the 1995 film adaptation. Extensive introductory comment and annotation complement extracts from critical and contextual texts. The book concludes with fourteen widely studied passages from Pride and Prejudice, reprinted with editorial comment.

One of fiction's most well-loved novels, this 19th-century classic continues to capture the hearts of contemporary readers with its notions of marriage, dating, and romance. Leading authors in the area of women's literature and romance contribute to this fresh collection of essays on everything from Lydia's scandalous marriage to George Wickham to the female-dominated Bennett household and the emphasis placed on courtship and marriage. Contributors include Jo Beverly, Alesia Holliday, Mercedes Lackey, Joyce Millman, and Jill Winters. This compilation is an excellent companion for both those new to Jane Austen and well-versed Austen-philes.

The study of literature on screen is a growing area of study in schools and universities. Many students have to produce critical essays comparing the novel and film versions of a particular text. The Screen Adaptations series offers a wealth of study material: from the literary context of the original work, through to thought-provoking comparisons of the screen versions, critical commentary and the afterlife of the films. Pride and Prejudice is a classic piece of literature and any new adaptation is a major event. With several well-known TV and film versions available (featuring stars such as Keira Knightley) as well as a Bollywood version, discussions around how these films interpret the story, themes and characters is a popular classroom choice for students and teachers alike. This new title in the Screen Adaptations series, provides a rich source of material to help students understand and write about the reciprocal relationship between film and literature. It offers in-depth analysis of the various screen versions and alternative `readings' as well as critical insight and an interview with writer Andrew Davies, best known for his 1995 BBC adaptation. Following from Shakespeare, Jane Austen on screen is now an established part of literary studies and the volume will conclude with a survey of the growing body of literature in the field.

Emma is one of Jane Austen's most popular novels, in large part due to the impact of Emma Woodhouse, the "handsome, clever and rich" heroine. This lively, informed and insightful guide to Emma explores the style, structure, themes, critical reputation and literary influence of Jane Austen's classic novel and also discusses its film and TV versions. It includes points for discussion, suggestions for further study and an annotated guide to relevant reading. This introduction to the text is the ideal companion to study, offering guidance on the literary and historical context, reading the text, the critical reception and publishing history, adaptation and interpretation and a guide to further reading.

Although Jane Austen famously referred to Emma as a heroine "whom no one but myself will much like," the irony of her remark has been obvious since the first appearance of her novel in December 1815. The central character may have attracted diverse reactions, but there can be no doubt aboutthe endless enjoyment afforded to generations of readers. The essays in this collection demonstrate the varied delights of reading Emma. Most have been written in the last twenty years, but each draws on the cumulative body of scholarship and critical analysis that has built up since the novel wasfirst published. The purpose of the collection is to introduce readers of Austen to new ways of interpreting her most substantial and rewarding novel. Each essay engages with Emma, but there is considerable dialogue taking place between the different approaches, which collectively contributes to theenriched readings of Austen's work. The collection opens with an introduction encouraging readers to re-read Emma, and to find its pleasures magnified by the critical interpretations and scholarship represented in this casebook.

To praise Jane Austen's novels only as stylistic masterpieces is to strip them of the historical, cultural, and literary contexts that might otherwise illuminate them. By focusing primarily on the political, historical, satiric, actively intertextual, and deeply sexualized text of Persuasion, Jocelyn Harris seeks to reconcile the so-called insignificance of her content with her high canonical status, for Austen's interactions with real and imagined worlds prove her to be innovative, even revolutionary. This book answers common assertions that Austen's content is restricted; that being uneducated and a woman, she could only write unconsciously, realistically, and autobiographically of what she knew; that her national and sexual politics were reactionary; and that her novels serve mainly as havens from reality. Such ideas arose from literal readings of Austen's letters, the family's representation of her as a gentle, unlearned genius, and the assumption that she could not write about the Napoleonic Wars. Persuasion is, though, permeated with references to war as well as peace. Harris suggests that Persuasion may respond to Walter Scott's review of Emma, Austen's correspondence with Fanny Knight, hostile reviews of Frances Burney's The Wanderer, contemporary attacks on the novel, and her own defense of fiction in Northanger Abbey. Self-critical in revision, Austen calls on Byron, Shakespeare, Napoleon, and Cook to modify wartime constructions of English masculinity such as Southey's Nelson. Similarly, her critique of Scott's first three novels confirms that her attitude toward class and gender is far from reactionary. Persuasion reveals Austen's patriotism, her pioneering lyricism, and her hopes for sexual equality. Although like Turner she portrays Lyme as sublime and liminally open to change, she attacks Bath, a city shadowed by mortality and corruption, with a savage indignation characteristic of contemporary satire. Persuasion sketches a society founded on merit and distributive justice, its turn from woe to joy derived not so much from her own life as from the seasonal resurrections of Shakespeare's late tragicomedies, her religious beliefs, and the nation's mixed grief and jubilee after Waterloo. Harris draws on new information to argue that Austen is an outward looking, intertextually aware, and remarkably self-conscious author.