Indexes journal articles, books and dissertations on topics in literature. The materials covered are international in scope and date back to the 1920s.
JSTOR is a repository of important scholarly journals in many academic disciplines. The Knox College Library subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections I, II, III, IV and VII and the Ecology & Botany collection.
For the source evaluation assignment, you should use a source that you are using for your annotated bibliography and final research paper. For this paper, you are expected to find and use "at least six sources: articles from peer-reviewed journals or book chapters (i.e. a chapter
from a book, not the entire book)." Either an article or book chapter is fine to use for the source evaluation.
In your required ENG 300L individual meeting with Kennedy, you can discuss either your annotated bibliography or your final paper. Our session can be dedicated to:
General tips:
Use the name of the play in quotation marks in the Subject - SU field.
Use Shakespeare in the SU field + your theme or element keyword(s) without a field (All Fields)
Items in JSTOR are either primary source documents or scholarly materials that have gone through a peer review process, thus, you do not need to apply a peer review filter as you do in MLA Bibliography.
JSTOR does not have a Subject field like MLA Bibliography. Use the Abstract field to limit your searches for keywords within an article's abstract summary.
Works were reviewed and analyzed in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries, and you can find that criticism, but you have to adopt a different search strategy as you won't be able to find it indexed in a library database.
One of the best ways is to find a comprehensive bibliography on your writer or topic. By this I mean a Book Length bibliography. If there is one, it will usually list all the earliest criticism published on that writer or topic.
To do this, search the library catalog for the writer or topic as SUBJECT and the word Bibliography in the TITLE.
However, all authors will not have one of these. Only the most famous writers will have one.
Many authors who do not have a full length bibliography, do still have a biography written about them. A biography will often mention early criticism because how the writer felt about the criticism and reviews received effected that authors life, and so is part of the story. Check the biography for references to the writers reception by the public and colleagues. It will usually then have a footnote or reference in the back to the full citation for the criticism.
To find a Biography - search for your Writer by SUBJECT, find one book on the writer, and write down the call number. Locate the book on the library shelf (you can ask for assistance at the front desk) and, once you have found it, look at the books that are shelved around this book. Biographies will be shelved after the actual works by the writer and before the criticism.
Sometimes someone will write a bibliographical essay on your writer or topic. This means they will write a journal article that discusses the earliest criticism and analysis of a writer or topic.
To find this type of article - Search The MLA Bibliography for your writer or topic as SUBJECT and the words Bibliograp* OR "early criticism" in the TITLE field.
If none of these strategies work, email or make an appointment with the English Subject Librarian!
A Short History of Shakespearean Criticism
by
Shakespeare's Tragedies
by
A Companion to Shakespeare's Works, Volume 1, Tragedies
by
A Companion to Shakespeare's Works, Volume III
by
