ANSO 346: Doing it for the Culture (SCA): Finding & Citing Sources

Located on the second floor of Seymour Library, the Knox College Special Collections and Archives is a repository preserving rare books, manuscripts, artworks, and artifacts from Knox College, the local Galesburg area, and from around the world. Overall, we are a resource for the Knox campus and wider community to engage and research with primary and secondary sources.

To learn more about our materials, check out our main page. 

There are several ways to search our collections -- both online and in person. If you have difficulty finding what you are looking for, do not hesitate to contact us. 

• Knox Primo: This library discovery system includes a search engine for exploring rare books and other unique items in Special Collections. You can search by title, author, or other subject keywords. Are you looking for a specific topic? Try setting additional filters on the left-hand side of the page to narrow your search.  By clicking on “Special Collections” in the location box, you can narrow your search to include Special Collections materials only.
• Archival & Manuscript Collections: Finding aids describe the content and scope of various collections. These inventories can be located within binders in our Reading Room or shared via Google Drive. For more information, see the manuscript holdings list and the list of archival series collections. 

• Digital Collections: If you want to locate digitized material, try checking out our digital collections and exhibits. Our digital exhibits showcase a wide variety of art, vintage photographs from Knox College, and other primary source materials.  

For rare books and periodicals, you can follow usual citation rules based on whatever style is being used. For manuscript and archival materials, our preferred citation is:

[Collection or File Name]. Collection # or Series. Special Collections and Archives, Henry M. Seymour Library, Galesburg, IL.

The above citation can be changed to meet style requirements. If you have any questions or concerns about citing our resources, consult your subject librarians or Special Collections staff.