Costume Design Resources

Five things to consider when researching with the Internet (aka The CRAAP Test!)

1. Currency: When was it produced? Last updated?
2. Relevance: Ask yourself: what do I need? Can I use this information?
3. Authority: What is the Domain name? Who published the document? Are any qualifications listed? Are sources cited?
4. Accuracy: Are there any grammatical mistakes? If so, can you contact the author/webmaster?
5. Purpose: What were the goals of producing this Web page? Are these personal/biased opinions?

If you cannot answer these questions satisfactorily, reconsider using the information as a source.

Websites for costume, clothing and fashion images

Costume Page - Costume images and history

Costumer's Manifesto - Great resource for costume history by period

Library of Congress: American Memory Collection digitized portion of the archives including documents and visuals

LIFE Photo Archives  "Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today via Google."

Google Images

Vintage Patterns (Commercial Pattern Archive) contains scanned patterns, samples here from 1850's-present. To search the "free" version of the database, select "Sample" on top menu and selection search limits.

Internet Archive a digital archive of images, moving images, texts and music.  Examples:  Godey's Lady's Book of Color Fashion Plates & Greek Dress

Europeana Fashion Portal (currently under development) is searchable by keyword (limit by garment type, color). This site will eventually provide an archive for contemporary and historical European fashion.

Dance

Ballerina Gallery - Ballerina photo gallery

Dance Heritage Collection - dance collection to preserve America's dance

Society of Dance History Scholars - Research, history, publications

Stage Craft

TheatreCrafts - Useful links and practical information for all aspects of technical stagecraft, including an online glossary and links to effects, sound, lighting, props, and stage management

Theatron - 3D models of various stages

Theatre (General)

Cesar - Database contains information on all aspects of the French theatre between 1600 and 1800

Didaskalia - An electronic journal and resource dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman drama in performance

Internet Broadway Database - The IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

Living PlayBook - Hundreds of Acting games

Lortel Archives - Off-Broadway Database provides a catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway.

Noh Plays - English translations of 13 Japanese Noh plays, including a glossary

Performing Arts Encyclopedia - Explore music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress

Speech Accent Archive - Audio samples of various language backgrounds

Theatre History on the Web - Jack Wolcott's website of theatre history resources

Virtual Library of Theatre and Drama - resources from more than 50 countries around the world