Photographs published in literature of the time period are primary sources.
Browse journal issues in print (basement of Seymour Library) or the digital versions, where available. Browsing is seriously fun!
Historical New York Times (1851-2010) "full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue". Limit your search to a "document type" like "display ad" or "photo". Limit dates to selected year or range. Search keyword like "fashion".
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986) "full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue". Limit your search to a "document type" like "display ad" or "photo". Limit dates to selected year or range. Search keyword like "fashion".
New York Times Current (1980-present; see access instructions here)
Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898). Select "Godey's" from the Source field. Search by keyword (dress, fashion, hat) and use the <shift> key to highlight all the image types. Fashion plates from 1859-1860 can be viewed on the Internet Archive.
Harpers Magazine (1857-1912 online) and (1850-Present)
in periodical collection
Life (1936-1960) and browse periodical collection
Time (1933-Present) browse in periodical collection
Newsweek (1947-2012) browse in periodical collection
U.S. News and World Report (1948-2003) browse in periodical collection
Sears and Roebuck Catalog (1892-1993 microfilm). View fashion for sale in this iconic catalog. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
More photographic archives are recomended on the Websites tab above.
Woman and child ca.1850. Image courtesy of ARTstor.
Clothing artifacts are the "real deal"
ARTstor "is a digital library of over one million images and related data in the areas of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences." It is possible to view detail on the screen at 100% actual size (like the item on the left). Genre can be limited to costume and photograph (to see actual artifacts) as well as time period, geographical location and keyword. See sample search below for fashion examples from 1920-1929. ARTstor Research Guide
Coat, Continental Army, American ca.1775-1783. Image courtesy of ARTstor.
Europeana Fashion Portal (currently under development) is searchable by keyword (limit by garment type, color). This site will eventually provide an archive for contemporary and historical European fashion.
Images in Art
ARTstor “ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images and related data in the areas of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences." It is possible to view detail on the screen at 100% actual size. Click ADVANCED SEARCH to limit to time period and genre of art. See ARTstor Research Guide
Saskia Art Images "The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections."
Bridgeman Art Library Archive "The Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction." Images include: fine arts, design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics and artifacts.
Roman copy of Greek status "Great Herculanese Woman" ca. 300 BCE. Image courtesy of ARTstor.
Costume images may be found in many types of sources:
See information on searching these sources below.
Brooks Brothers Suit (1933). Image courtesy of ARTstor.
