Research Guides: Economics: Finding Databases

Commonly used databases for Economics

A - Z Databases
This is a link to all the databases Knox College is subscribed to with descriptions of the content of each database.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, plus indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.
View a brief video (2:32) about using Academic Search Complete.
America's News This link opens in a new window
A wide variety of local, regional and national news sources.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
This journal collection focuses on the sciences and social sciences. Annual Reviews articles are review articles summarizing the research on topics within fields like economics, anthropology, sociology, and most areas of the sciences.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,100 peer-reviewed journals with content dating back to 1886 and searchable cited references back to 1998. Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
The full text of this important resource for preparing manuscripts and citing sources is now online.
View help information on how to use the Chicago Manual of Style. This is very useful if you have never used Chicago style before. You can also take the tutorial!
For advanced users, view this short video (7:26) to learn how to use the Chicago Manual of Style Online to cite primary sources.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Full text of the magazine for higher education news and commentary.
Galesburg Register-Mail This link opens in a new window
Galesburg Register-Mail newspaper online from 1997-present.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Presents historical data for the U.S. Access is via Knox Primo-All I-Share Libraries.
Knox Primo This link opens in a new window
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
National Agricultural Library This link opens in a new window
This catalog from the National Agricultural Library provides citations to the agricultural literature from journals, books and technical reports.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
New York Times current content.
Knox faculty, students and staff have access to most conent on the New York Times at no charge. To create your account on the NYTimes.com:
1. Go to the account access page (before the page appears you may be prompted to login to Knox--do that using your Knox email credentials). Note: If you are using Chrome, you may see a page saying "Did you mean nytimes.com?" Click on the "Ignore" button to head to the sign in page.
2. If you do not have an account on the NY Times site, click on the button to create one. Otherwise, click on the link to login to your account.
3. Enter your Knox email address, then click continue and enter your Knox Password
4. Select your graduation year, and start your access.
For more information and help with logging in see this page.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text news sources including newspapers, news magazines, news wires, and online news sites. Also includes legal information: court cases and full text of law review journals. SEC filings are also a part of Nexis Uni.
New in Nexis Uni!

After getting a search results page, click on the Analytics button to view data about your search.
- A chart of coverage over time
- List of top publications with information about your search terms
- Word clouds showing relevant terms
- Charts wit top subjects and industries
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 500 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals; also includes full-text reference books and monographs and full text conference papers.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates market and consumer statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Results are presented in graphical display with Excel and pdf download options.
The Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The full text of the newspaper The Times of London from 1785-2014.