Start your research considering the suggested areas below
When researching a time period, use reference materials to obtain historical context
Chronology of World History REFERENCE D11 .M39 1999
Working Americans 1880-1999 REFERENCE HD 8066 .D47 2000
CREDO (meta-reference resources), which includes sources such as:
Or, use a history database for more in-depth research:
Look at United States newspapers of the time:
New York Times (1980-Present) & Historical New York Times (1851-2006)
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
Obtain biographical information and literary criticism on a playwright
Search MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography database for the playwright as SUBJECT
Search the Literary Reference Center database by playwright, and limit to BIOGRAPHIES
Search the Library Catalog for the author's name as a SUBJECT
Contemporary Authors REF PN771 .C58
Contemporary Dramatists REF PN1861 .V5 1977
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance REF PN2035 .O92 2003
Cambridge Guide to Theatre online
Research play plots and literary criticism
Search MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography database for the play title as SUBJECT
Search the Literary Reference Center database by play title. Can limit results to PLOT SUMMARIES, LITERARY CRITICISM, or REFERENCE works.
Search the Library Catalog for the play title as a SUBJECT
Cambridge Guide to Theatre online
See the Find Articles tab above for more choices and tips.
Search MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography database for the play title as SUBJECT
Search Literary Reference Center database for PLAY to obtain plot summaries and literary criticism
Search the Library Catalog for the PLAY name as a SUBJECT
American Drama Criticism: 1890-1977 REF PS332 .D7 P3 1979
Drama Criticism REF PN1707 .C6
Dramatic Criticism Index REF PN1707 .B8
See also "Newspapers" below.
Search newspapers for reviews, information about theatre companies and historical documentation.
LexisNexis Academic (1980-Present)
Full-text access to 6,000 news, business and legal publications
Access World News (2XXX-Present, with some pre-1980 access)
3,000 international newspapers
New York Times (1980-Present) & Historical New York Times (1851-2006)
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
Many other news sources can be found on the News Sources Research Guide.
For Images, go to the Images tab of this research guide.
Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion
Online or Reference book GT507 .E53 2005