Research Guides: ECON 373: Economic Development: Country Profiles

General Country Statistics

In addition to these sources, each country has its own statistical agency (here is a list of links) and many government ministries also provide statistics on their websites.

WHO - Global Health Observatory
A project of the World Health Organization, the GHO presents statistics and analysis related to global health and includes profiles of individual countries.
LABORSTA
Organized by the International Labour Organization's Department of Statistics, LABORSTA pulls to together labor statistics from countries around the world.
OFFSTATS
OFFSTATS is a site maintained by the University of Auckland (New Zealand) Library and presents links to official statistics available on the web. The "Browse" feature is most useful.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics - Country & Regional Profiles
Country & regional profiles present statistics on key indicators. Pre-defined and custom tables can be accessed through the Data Centre
World Bank Data
View data from over 1,200 indicators and 200 countries. Includes country profiles for quick snapshots of data

Country Profiles

The websites of international agencies and organizations such as the UN (including UNESCO), the World Bank, the IMF, and the WHO contain important profile information and statistics and are often a good place to gather information on population, health, education, economic, agricultural and other statistics.

General profile resources are listed below.

Nexis Uni
Full text news sources including newspapers, news magazines, news wires, and online news sites. Also includes legal information: court cases and full text of law review journals. SEC filings are also a part of Nexis Uni.
New in Nexis Uni!

After getting a search results page, click on the Analytics button to view data about your search.
- A chart of coverage over time
- List of top publications with information about your search terms
- Word clouds showing relevant terms
- Charts wit top subjects and industries

Economist Intelligence Unit (via CIAO)
The Atlas feature in the database Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) provides access to country profiles from the Economist Intelligence Unit, which is "the world's leading resource for economic and business research, forecasting and analysis." Select Central America and the Caribbean or South America from the menu on the left side of the page.
FAO Country Profiles
"The FAO Country Profiles and Mapping Information System groups the organization's vast archive of information on its global activities in agriculture and development in a single area and catalogues it exclusively by country."
CIA World Factbook
"Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues"
Background Notes
Compiled and maintained by the U.S. Department of State, "Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty."
BBC News Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions." Also includes links to various media, including recent news stories.