Art
Art Across America
Reference ND 212 .G47 1990
International Dictionary of Art & Artists
Reference N 40 .I55 1990
History
Chronology of World History
Reference D 11 .M 39 1999
Working Americans 1880-1999
Reference HD 8066 .D47 2000
Theatre
The Dictionary of Costume
Reference GT 507 .W5
The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Reference GT 507 .E53 2005
Older print periodicals (& books!) have a wealth of visuals available. Take time to browse the Seymour Library basement periodical shelves.
19th Century Journals
Harpers Magazine (1850-Present) and online (1857-1912)
20th Century Journals
Life (1936-1960) and online
Time (1933-Present)
Newsweek (1947-Present)
U.S. News and World Report (1948-2003)
Sears and Roebuck Catalog (1892-1993 microfilm)
View fashion for sale in this iconic catalog. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
Internet Archive
A non-profit digital archive of images, moving images, texts and music
Examples: Godey's Lady's Book of Color Fashion Plates & Greek Dress
Images from ART
Suggestions for finding digital images:
"Finding digital images for use in teaching and research may involve a variety of strategies. A Google Image Search may yield results, but the quality of the images varies, and the images uncovered in a Google Image Search will, more than likely, have specific copyright restrictions. Subscription image databases (listed below) contain high quality images useful for teaching and research. While images in these databases are under copyright, use is usually permitted for educational purposes.
ARTstor “ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images and related data in the areas of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences." ARTstor Research Guide
Saskia Art Images "The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections."
Bridgeman Art Library Archive "The Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction." Images include: fine arts, design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics and artifacts.
Images from NEWS & PERIODICALS
Historical New York Times (1851-2010) "full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue". You may wish to limit your search to a "document type" like "display ad" or "photo".
New York Times Current (1980-present; see access instructions here)
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986) "full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue". You may wish to limit your search to a "document type" like "display ad" or "photo".
Library of Congress: American Memory Collection digitized portion of the archives including documents and visuals
LIFE Photo Archives "Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today via Google."
Tips for finding even MORE Images!
try keyword & subject searches
Search the Library Catalog and I-Share for:
costume colonial
costume Edwardian
clothing Islam
art medieval
art "civil war"
Find films in the Knox Library Catalog, for example:
See the Library Films tab for more information.